(Pictured is a sneak peak of my latest attempt for #ThePlatterProject, inspired by a young man named Mark)

Hi All,

Well, after what seemed a marathon of emails, delays, and endless frustration, we finally received the go-ahead for M to begin his work-up tests from our medical aid. What this means is that we are now going forward again, after a 4 month stall… I am mentally, physically and emotionally exhausted from the strain, but now have a renewed vigour.

There are still many bumps in the road to overcome, but I find that not acknowledging them helps you to avoid tripping!

We had a whistle stop trip to Cape town last week to hear Legh’s defence/justification of her Phd. I learnt a good travel tip to pass on. Planes are full of bugs and it’s easy to pick up infections on them. Bar wearing a mask, where you almost die of asphyxiation, you can rub bactroban or something similar in your nostrils…. It effectively blocks any bugs getting into your system… worked wonderfully for me!

#ThePlatterProject continues to flourish. It is very satisfying being productive and having a sense of purpose, at any time of your life actually, but possibly even more so when your health is compromised, as it stops you feeling sorry for yourself. We have 2 big auctions coming up in the USA shortly, so are very excited to hear the results of the sale of the platters. Otherwise, I will keep you posted on my progress, health wise. To be honest, you either have to be completely unconscious, or have balls of steel to go through this process, there are so many unexpected issues that arise, but like anything, it is how you rise to meet them.

I am a bit doff when it comes to social media, but I really wish to thank so many friends, and even strangers who support our cause and my journey, it is not a cliché to say that it gives me the strength to soldier on. Have a wonderful day, it’s a cracker in Jhb today.

Love Di , Legh, kit and David. xxx