Hi All

I smiled as I wrote that, wondering how many people reading this blog actually know what an”inch” is, I doubt my own kids do!  It is a measurement of length, and equals about 2.5cm.  The point I am making is that the ball is rolling forward now…..very slowly!

Both my potential donor and myself have to undergo various blood and urine tests, angiogram, mammogram (for me), check the bladder, female tests, psychological evaluation, abdominal scan and gastroscopy and possibly a few others.  I have already completed 7 out of the ten tests (all good so far), but my medical aid, in their wisdom has dropped the ball by not reading the documents presented to request authorization for M, but have merely told us that he doesn’t match. We known this since March…, so, the Prof must rewrite a letter of motivation for the desensitization and we must just be sure it gets to the right department at the medical aid company.  So, paper work holding things up, why am I not surprised?

Once the authorization is received, M will go ahead and nail all his tests.  If he is fit to donate a kidney and passes all the medical tests, we will begin the desensitzation almost immediately.  As all tests have to be less than 6 months old, I am agitating to get the authorization asap, as once the desensitization (7 sessions of 5 hours and I might need 3 courses…) has taken place, I understand the transplant is done immediately.  So theoretically speaking, I could have a new kidney by the end of 2017.

I’m very tempted to take some bets on this… We are all doing what we can to facilitate the process. Watch this space, it will probably start getting more interesting from now on as we approach the end of the year. I do hope you are all well, and I leave you with this thought”  If you are not feeling well, physically, mentally or emotionally, address it immediately, it could save you an enormous amount of grief later on. 29 degrees in Johannesburg today, everyone is emerging out of hibernation and the scent of summer is glorious. Speak soon, Love Di and kids.xxx

xxxx