Where are we….3 weeks later? A pre-transplant patient has to have some skills… they can be developed: Patience, perseverance, self-control and definitely an ability to be grateful for what others can do for you, that you are unable to do yourself. By the grace of God, I have a wonderful transplant co-ordinator who will help me cross the line, but even she gets frustrated with the red-tape and endless documentation and tests required.

The latest bit of excitement is my medical aid, which, at a critical time, has refused authorisation for M’s tests. I did mention to one of their staff members that I might die before they get their house in order… anyway, we are resubmitting the request for authorisation and awaiting their review of the case.

So that I am not held up any more (I have been waiting to start this process since APRIL 2017), I have instructed the transplant centre to go ahead with the first few tests M (my potential donor) requires, and I will sort out authorisation for him with the medical aid. I guess you have a choice, whatever you are faced with: Accept  or fight….

My authorisation has been approved, so I will be doing a number of tests to establish I am fit enough for desensitisation and the subsequent transplant. I have completed the chest x-ray, (cleared), heart check-up (all good) and will knock the rest of the tests on the head in the next few weeks. The most exciting part, (just a hint of sarcasm) is submitting all the final documentation (should we both be good to go) to the Department of Health, who have to give their permission for me to have a transplant… No comment.

Anyway, onwards and upwards, giving up at any stage is not an option. If M is not suitable for whatever reason, I will find someone else and start the process again as I would like to age disgracefully!!! Have a good day all of you and meet your challenges head on, it’s quite satisfying squashing them!