Time is flying by and things are finally starting to move forward. The transplant unit has received my potential donor’s HLA tissue typing results (tissue typing) and are awaiting my Luminex results (level of antibodies). Naturally we wont match, but I guess this is a starting point and they have to establish if they can manage my body to accept M’s kidney. (Desensitization process)

I have been desensitized in a sense already, from experiencing far too many sudden deaths, people in terrible pain, depression, infection, and fear as a daily experience, and that’s not including my own issues, so bring it on, let’s see what I still have to deal with to get a transplant…

I have also witnessed miracles, where people, against all odds, have survived and are now living fruitful, happy, healthy lives.  Why have I survived so long with a horrible illness when so many around me; good, kind, people have perished?  Well, firstly, a good medical aid. Secondly, excellent medical staff, my maverick doctor, Roger and his team couldn’t be more dedicated, thirdly, my family, friends and even peripheral folk, who will me on to survive, fourthly, a good mental attitude from me and an iron determination to live life as much as I can.

We are often required to deal with things we don’t want to in all facets of life, so: face them, accept them, deal with them as much as you can, and move on!

Looking forward to summer, I swear I can smell jasmine in the air already! Until next time.  Love Di and kids xxxx.