Well, today is Mandela Day and we celebrate a man with an undefeatable spirit, one we can learn much from. It is also the 2nd anniversary of my mother’s passing. She had a kidney transplant which enabled her to enjoy 28 years more of life. My beautiful dog, Poppet also passed away this day a year ago. She taught me much about love, faith, loyalty and intuition. It nearly broke my heart when she died suddenly.

Today, my bloods have been sent off for testing in an attempt to now match MY body to a DONOR’S, not the other way around. I guess, to find a starting point, my potential donor M., went for an HLA test last week, and my blood has been sent for a Luminex test. Don’t know what these are, even after reading about them, something about antibodies. We know we will not match, so not sure where we go to from there but we have to wait 30 days for the results. Patience, perserverance, and being positive are all essential for my survival now. I always remind myself that there are millions of people who are in a far worse position than me… it puts things in perspective. Have a lovely Mandela Day and let us try and embrace freedom, kindness and dignity. With love, Di, Legh, Kit and Dave.  xxxx   #ThePlatterProject