mom-ele

Dear Friends

Well, we are happy to put 2016 behind us and prepare for 2017. Despite all odds, I have two new ‘O’ positive donors who are prepared to donate one of their kidneys to me! To say this, is nothing short of miraculous. Of course, we don’t know if either match me yet, or if my heart is strong enough to handle a transplant in the near future, but after 8 failed attempts so far, the odds have to change in my favour sooner or later….who reading this likes taking bets??!!! Haha.

The purpose of this blog is to educate, and I have already received an email from the transplant coordinator asking for the first donor’s ID… I think my esteemed doctor, Candice the regional manager of the dialysis centre and maybe my God, mean business this year. I will post more regularly to inform you of the process towards a transplant, if that happens.

Why did my daughter posted this pic of me with the matriarch of a small herd of elephant just recently? We recently visited a place where you can walk with elephants, just outside Johannesburg.  I’m very happy to paint them, but a little bit more reserved when it comes to walking with them, close up, they are enormous! Each elephant has a handler who stays with them 24/7 as they go wild again very quickly.  Anyway, I got off the land rover and stood conveniently close to it as the others boldly strode off to pat the ellies. The matriarch broke away from the other elephants and people and slowly wandered over to me. I had a sleeveless top on (36 degrees c) and when she reached me, she slowly (and so gently) wound her trunk around my arm which has the fistula on.  (A fistula is where the dialysis team insert needles to drain and return your blood after removing toxins)  She stayed like that for about 30 seconds, then slowly unwound her trunk and moved off, away from the others. I realised she knew I have health issues, and this was confirmed by her handler, who told me that when pregnant women come to walk with them, she will touch their stomachs with her trunk. Animal instinct…. I fear us humans are losing our intuitive abilities, but what I do know, is that a positive, fearless approach to whatever challenges you, will carry you. I was just aware of this animal’s enormous strength, yet she was able to touch me so gently and it gave me enormous peace for some reason.

We are flying with #ThePlatterProject (on facebook) and have raised quite a bit of money for various kidney organisations and wildlife conservation organisations…. so satisfying to still be able to contribute to society, (by painting) even though fatigue is the biggest challenge at present.

We wish you all a peaceful, and happy new year for 2017, may all your wishes come true. With much love, Di, Legh, Kristin and David. xxxx