It’s been a week already since Di was in surgery!  Where has the time gone?  She & I are in daily (almost) contact, and I am happy to report that she is doing well.  I can hear this in her voice, which is firmer each day.  (WhatsApp voice notes are amazing!)  There is still pain to be managed, as one would expect after inflicting such violence on the body, but Di is able to cope with the aid of a few powerful medications.

It’s time for another special mention.  Mpho Ndlamini is another member of the wonderful team looking after Di at Morningside Mediclinic.  Thank you Mpho for the skilled, loving care you give Di!

IMG_2453

There are many others involved in this adventure, it’s a team medical effort : surgical and post-surgical nurses; dialysis nurses; surgeons; nephrologists; pharmacists; lab technologists; support and janitorial staff , and I am sure others I have forgotten or am not aware of.  You are all wonderful!  One day I hope there will be photos of you all rushing around the world in acknowledgement of the work you do.

If the next few weeks pass as quickly as this last one, the re-assessment of the tissue match between Di & I will be happening in a blink of an eye.  I am hoping for a miracle.  But I am also intensely aware of the odds involved in the match still being there, and they say

WE NEED A PLAN B!

Will one of our friends and followers, or someone you know, be Di’s Plan B?  It starts with having Type O blood (positive or negative) and two healthy kidneys.  And a desire to help.

Talk to Legh or I if you want to be Di’s Plan B.

Jill