Great that Jill is getting into the health thing again, she was in just about every team possible when we were kids, except maybe table tennis! I was never very physically active, so don’t miss it, but I have several friends who use exercise to make them feel better both physically and as a de-stress mechanism.

I understand, after a transplant, there are even transplant games that one can participate in!(28-31 July UK) For now, I am grateful I have moved from a house with stairs! They were clobbering me energy wise, going up and down several times a day.

Dialysis is a great interim assist for people with end stage renal failure as not all life-threatening diseases have a life-extending support. Having said that, I was quoted a survival rate of 50% after 5 years on dialysis….one in two people die after 5 years of being on dialysis. Not sure how accurate that is, but not fantastically encouraging to hear when you first embark on dialysis. I have no intention of pegging before or after 5 years, but the one thing I do know, is that in South Africa, unless you find your own donor, you are pretty much done for and the odds stack even more as you get older. So, if my dear Jill does not match me, as the classic saying goes, ‘the show must go on” and we will find someone else! Let’s all think positive, whatever is troubling us as individuals. If we DO match, I am going to nag everyone to share so that we can create as much awareness as possible about live donations. Have a wonderful day. Love Di, kids and animals. xxx