Since waiting is not one of my best skills, I have decided to use the hiatuses (yes, that IS the correct plural form!) in the donation testing and screening process to kick start a “New and Improved Jill” program.  In other words, to get fit and lose weight.  Not only is this a partial pre-requisite for any surgery, it’s also my personal mission to ensure Di gets the healthiest kidney possible from me (if things come to that point).

Vancouver is a wonderful city to get out and about in, with a plethora of parks and woodlands as well as urban bike routes, waterfront trails and beaches.  Not to mention golf courses.  I already have the golf clubs, so this weekend I invested in a new hybrid bike, to take advantage of living within spitting distance of the Pacific Spirit Park and Spanish Banks beach, amongst other options.

FullSizeRender

My first foray into the forest on Saturday evening was a little frustrating.  I’m not very familiar yet with the trails, and got myself turned around, resulting in not one, or even two, but THREE repeats of the same route leading precisely nowhere but into mud!  I eventually figured the way out, and even found a map to take home – at the exit point!

bike

Once home, I resisted all urges to wash the hard-earned grime off my new toy, and instead rearranged the house to find a home for it!  How is that for love! (I live in a small, two-roomed suite with no garage, so I have had to find an artful way of including the bike in my living room decorating scheme J).

If I go missing in the next few days, start by looking in that forest!

I also replaced my walking shoes, which are pretty tired after training for and completing the 10km Sun Run (walk, for me) last weekend, because now that spring has sprung and rain is becoming less of an everyday occurrence, I can take the long way home via Kitsilano Beach, and get some fresh air, water views, and sunshine after a day in the office.

IMG_2231

I already have one long distance training partner – who is currently enjoying the Natal beaches.  Anybody else going to join me, and get fit for Di?  It’ll be fun, I promise!