20170215_104057.jpgHi folks

Some of you may by now know, that unfortunately Martin is not a viable match with me.  He was devastated and I, quite frankly, am just numb. I have too many anti-bodies from numerous blood transfusions and my body would reject his kidney immediately. By some unbelievable miracle, Martin’s wife, Adri has come forward as a possible donor… She is going on Monday 27th February to check her blood type. As awed as I am by her (and Martin’s ) extraordinary kindness, I am not holding my breath for a match.

I am remarkably better since both kidneys have been removed.  As long as my heart keeps beating, (I’m on medication for it now, as dialysis damages it) I should be able to kick around for a few years yet and maybe that is my destiny.  From now on, I am not “waiting until I get a kidney” but am going to live my life as fully as possible, following my passions (family, friends, music, nature conservation,#ThePlatterProject, to name but a few) and screaming with hysterical laughter at State of the Nation’s addresses!!!

We can’t always control what happens in our lives, but we do always have choices, and I feel oddly reborn after yet another disappointment regarding a match (plus 4 plates cracked in the kiln which nearly put Maureen my potter in hospital with distress). I have almost caught up with the plates (which are on order from the USA) and if Adri is not a match, we will try one more person and then leave it in the hands of the Gods…..  Onwards and upwards, giving up on life is just not an option.

I hope you know your individual passions and talents, they are motivations that keep you going in the face of adversity and when life has it’s kinder moments. Have a wonderful week and keep smiling. Love Di, kids and animals. xxxxx.