Friday April 15 2016, 10:45am Pacific Daylight Time will always have a place in my history.

I just got word: I have the go-ahead to have HLA typing testing done from the St Paul’s Hospital Kidney Transplant Program Director!  (Providence Health Care Living Kidney Donor Program)  Details to follow next week, but at last, real forward movement in the hunt for a new kidney for Di.  I am so excited and happy!

blog-image

Why is this such a big deal?  We are all unique creations, and this extends right into the far reaches of our bodies, where every cell is primed to attack cells that don’t belong: this is why our immune system exists.  In the case of moving an organ from one person to another, a lot of work goes into minimising the chances of the donated organ being rejected – attacked by the immune system.  An HLA Tissue Typing test is just the first stage in this process.  But it is an important indicator of the likely success of donation.  See here for some simplified scientific information: HLA Typing/Matching.

Right now, the St Paul’s Program feels I am carrying too much weight to safely donate a kidney.  I don’t disagree, and value the care that is being taken with my well-being as well as considering Di’s need.  Because of this, usual protocols in place require that I wouldn’t proceed to the HLA testing stage until I am at a healthy weight.  But weight takes time to lose, and time is not on our side, especially if I am not a match.  Di will still need a donor to come forward.  And if I am a match, Dr Bernstein here I come!

So, as per my last post, I made that call and asked to get this crucial test done now.

And look what happened!